Home

The Narrative project  was the first unit to second year. We were issued the project in the summer just before we got . We were sent and email with a list of book to chose from . We were to chose one to read it and analyse before we got back. I chose to read War horse because I was interested  in learn how to draw animals as it was some think that I haven`t treated before also it a children book and I was also interested in making a children book.How ever now I see that doing some think you never done before Can cause you to have a step back as I find out later that I was not very good at drawing horse.I started the project with work shop one which really help me see new was of in visualize the project and one question that stuck with me though the project was the idea that the book was a flame color this help guide me in some way within my work on the color chose that I made later on . also after this workshop I had this impulse to make poster . Rachel want though the brief  with me explaining that the purpose of the project is to consider the relationship between text and image and also think about how you interpret text with images ? there were two outcomes to this project I chose to do the second one which was to create five publication. We had the second work shop which was to start use visualizing are book and the images I find this work shop to be helpful in see that I didn’t want to continue with my first idea of telling the book though the horse eye Although knowing this I continue a little with the idea in experimentation and the came to a point in which I got lost in knowing what to do for this project and began just making soft pastel drawing for images in my research journal which the project required us to have. Although they were pleasing to the eye the were not interpreting  and form of text or working with it. with in the interim review Rachel gave me the go a head to create posters but work out a way in which they work with text and also I wanted to make my images more surreal and not just copying from secondary images.So I want on to do thumb nail sketch and working from description of selected text that I had chosen from the book .I also think that the problem I had that at the  start was due to the fact that I wasn`t working with the text but secondary images and not doing what was required for the project so I reed back over chapters 14 to 16 as it was the most interesting part for me a selected text were I could visualize images of a surreal nature. I then want onto make watercolor and ink pen drawing of a selective thumb nail use A5 size. At this point I like what i was doing and the way it turned out . Showing them in a tutorial with  Rachel .L we spoke about taking one chapter and focuses in on that Rachel seemed to really like one of my water colored drawing which was the coin flip scene we deiced to take a look at this one chapter 16 and slow down the coin flip scene . After this point I want on to read chapter 16 and pick out my selective text and drawing my final images. How ever I  was no longer making so surreal a part from keep the one surreal image but gone back to telling the story though the horse eye by creating the image so it from the hose perspective.I was now fully aware of what I was doing for my final outcome and at eases. I find that the tutorial with Rachel .L help me come to this point. I had every think together my images selective text and also my front cover design.So I started the process of making the book which had some few error with printing it right but i work it out and then I cut the cover and text down to A6 size and the image a little bit bigger because I had researched on creative files and like this the design so I adapted it and the size was because it a file diary which you cant carry a round in your pocket. We then had the crit there were a few suggestive change that i make just to tie every think together such as change the style of the images and size I took on bored the idea of changing styles but I think I keep the size .overall I enjoyed the project once I started to know what I was doing and becoming more active. I think the thing That I learn in this project is the important of time management and also act on my ideas so that I have a better understanding it this will work or not and to move on or develop and change elements.

 

 

 

Leave a comment